Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Sam test page

Man and Mountain

Man and Mountain: Chris Bonington

Keswick

Sat 19 May 2018 - Sun 6 Jan 2019

Heritage Lottery Fund supported exhibition on world renowned mountaineer Sir Chris Bonington that traces his journey from the sandstone of Harrison’s Rocks to the highest summits on earth, and close connections to the Cumbrian landscape.

From Wordsworth to the Web

From Wordsworth to the Web

Kendal

Tue 19 Jun - Thu 20 Dec 2018

Here is the news! Museum of Lakeland Life & Industry celebrates 200 years of Kendal’s local paper, the Westmorland Gazette.

Votes for Women: Suffrage and Women's Lives

Votes for Women: Suffrage and Women's Lives

Kendal

Tue 19 Jun - Mon 31 Dec 2018

Discover the history of the suffragists and suffragettes and how women fought for their rights.

Dorothy Wordsworth & Women Mountaineers

Dorothy Wordsworth & Women Mountaineers

Grasmere

Sat 1 Sep - Sun 23 Dec 2018

Dorothy Wordsworth was a keen mountaineer. This exhibition celebrates her accomplishments on the bicentenary of her ascent of Scafell Pike.

Crawl in the Hall

Crawl in the Hall

Kendal

Fri 7 Sep 2018 - Fri 25 Jan 2019

The weekly creative sessions for the under-fives are inspired by works of art from Abbot Hall’s exhibitions and collections.

Sir Tom Courtenay by Isobel Peachey

New Light Prize Exhibition 2018

Carlisle

Sat 13 Oct 2018 - Sun 27 Jan 2019

A ‘must see’ exhibition which shines a light on Northern contemporary art.

The Simpsons: An Arts & Crafts Family

The Simpsons: An Arts & Crafts Family

Windermere

Wed 24 Oct 2018 - Sun 6 Jan 2019

This exhibition places The Simpsons family in the context of the Arts & Crafts Movement in the Lake District, and will be especially enjoyed by anyone with an interest in Arts & Crafts furniture, embroidery, leatherwork or design.

New Light Prize Exhibition

New Light Prize Exhibition

Carlisle

Wed 24 Oct 2018 - Sun 27 Jan 2019

A chance to see some of the North’s finest artists in our fantastic gallery space.

The Santa Express

The Santa Express

Ambleside

Sat 3 Nov - Sun 23 Dec 2018

Join The Santa Express @ Hayes Garden World!...

Percy Kelly : A Legacy

Percy Kelly : A Legacy

Carlisle

Sat 3 Nov 2018 - Sun 24 Feb 2019

Percy Kelly returns to Tullie House for a legacy exhibition...

The Great Print Exhibition 2018

The Great Print Exhibition 2018

Penrith

Tue 13 Nov 2018 - Sun 3 Feb 2019

The Great Print Exhibition 2018 is the largest exhibition of its kind in the UK. With over 350 framed artworks on the wall by over 60 printmakers from up and down Britain, it’s an excellent chance to see and buy original art.

Alison Watt: A Shadow On The Blind

Alison Watt: A Shadow On The Blind

Kendal

Thu 15 Nov 2018 - Sat 2 Feb 2019

A last chance to see work by one of Britain’s leading painters at Abbot Hall.

Grayson Perry at Abbot Hall Art Gallery

Grayson Perry: Julie Cope's Grand Tour

Kendal

Thu 15 Nov 2018 - Sat 16 Feb 2019

Julie Cope is a fictional character created by artist Grayson Perry – an Essex everywoman whose story he has told through the two tapestries and extended ballad presented in this Crafts Council touring exhibition.

John Harden (1772-1847)

John Harden (1772-1847)

Kendal

Thu 15 Nov 2018 - Thu 28 Feb 2019

To celebrate UNESCO World Heritage Site Status for the Lake District, this display showcases the work of watercolorist John Harden capturing the cultural landscape of the early 19th century.

Christmas Baubles: Glassblowing

Christmas Baubles: Glassblowing

Ulverston

Thu 15 Nov - Sun 23 Dec 2018

Blowing a lead crystal Christmas bauble is a fantastically exciting and educational experience for almost anyone.

Grayson Perry, In Focus Display

Grayson Perry, In Focus Display

Windermere

Mon 19 Nov 2018 - Sun 6 Jan 2019

Grayson Perry In-Focus Display features three spotlight loans which will be displayed in the unique Arts & Crafts setting.

Post your letter to Santa

Post your letter to Santa

Penrith

Fri 23 Nov - Fri 21 Dec 2018

Christmas is round the corner, it’s time to write to Santa!

Earth Photo Exhibition

Earth Photo Exhibition

Hawkshead

Thu 6 Dec 2018 - Sun 20 Jan 2019

On display at Grizedale, the inaugural edition of the Earth Photo competition and exhibition presents a selection from an outstanding array of photographs.

Jane Rushton: Breathing Spaces

Jane Rushton: Breathing Spaces

Kendal

Thu 6 Dec 2018 - Sat 19 Jan 2019

From northern Britain, Iceland, Greenland and Svalbard my work engages with the particularities of landscape and is underpinned by an awareness of the processes at play within it.

Jenny Mclaren "Tracing Contours'

Jenny Mclaren "Tracing Contours'

Kendal

Thu 6 Dec 2018 - Sun 13 Jan 2019

The work in “Tracing Contours” is a collection of the various landscapes I walked through between June and October 2018, leading up to the exhibition.

Shona Branigan – Hiding in the Wood

Shona Branigan – Hiding in the Wood

Hawkshead

Thu 6 Dec 2018 - Sun 17 Feb 2019

Hand printing wood shows all its natural beauty and mystery.

Puppet Theatre Christmas Production

Puppet Theatre Christmas Production

Penrith

Sun 9 Dec 2018 - Sun 6 Jan 2019

A stunning and original production, using a mixture of puppet types and special scenic effects which includes projected moving images and a revolving stage.

A Winter Pom-Pom Trail

A Winter Pom-Pom Trail

Penrith

Tue 11 Dec 2018 - Wed 13 Feb 2019

This winter’s trail around the gardens features a gingerbread girl by the name of Tammy O’Shanter and her quest to find the perfect bobble or pom-pom for her woolly hat.

Turner at Lowther

Turner at Lowther

Penrith

Tue 11 Dec 2018 - Sun 31 Mar 2019

A wonderful opportunity to view Turner’s painting of Lowther Castle which he did in 1809 while visiting the Lake District.

Aqua Pura

Like what you see? Follow us