Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Search and Shortlist

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Venue Type



Keyword Search


image for Cycle Route item typeGosforth - Conistonadd to shortlist

Covering 112 miles, and the most famous passes of the Lake District, the 4 Seasons Fred Whitton Bike Tour follows the annual sportive route but can be completed 365 days a year at your own pace. It's a fantastic opportunity for individuals, groups and clubs to complete one of the most challenging cycling routes in the country, over one or more days, and to get an official finish time on the Fred Whitton website.

Visit to download the map and route

Route Information

Time/Effort 5 out of 5
Navigation 3 out of 5
Technicality 3 out of 5

Route Essentials

Cycle Route: Gosforth - Irton Pike Summit - Eskdale Green - Hardknott Pass - Wrynose Pass - Little Langdale - Coniston

Duration: 1 day

Miles: 23

Route Details

Start: Gosforth

1. Turn left into Gosforth, then right, leaving Gosforth for Santon Bridge.

2. Continue to Irton Pike Summit and onto Eskdale Green.

3. Turn left at King George IV and past Boot Village up to the summit of Hardknott Pass (393m). This is the steepest hill in England with gradients of 1 in 4 and less so be prepared! Pushing is allowed!

4. Continue onto the Wrynose Pass Summit (393m) and through Fell Foot and Little Langdale.

5. Turn right at the T-Junction towards Coniston and right again onto the A593 to Coniston. On entering Coniston head back to Hills Garage to complete the challenge.

Finish: Coniston

Like what you see? Follow us