Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Search and Shortlist

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Venue Type

Location

Facilities

Keyword Search

 

image for Outdoor Event item typeGhyll Scrambling Fun in the Western Lakes at West Lakes Adventureadd to shortlist

  • Member of Cumbria Tourism

Outdoor Event, from 24 May 2020, £39.50

Ghyll Scrambling Fun in the Western Lakes

Ghyll Scrambling Fun in the Western Lakes

West Lakes Adventure - The Centre of Adventure in the Lake District

Details

Ghyll scrambling is an exhilarating and fun activity perfect for families or groups who want a challenge, making it one of our most popular activities! Guided by our highly experienced and qualified instructors, you will make your way up a mountain stream whilst having so much fun along the way. This is a wet activity, so you can expect to be plunging into clear pools, swimming against flowing water, climbing up the side of waterfalls, exploring caves and sliding down water shoots along the way.
During the season we offer a programme of taster sessions, meeting you at West Lakes Adventure by one of our experienced instructors, these half day sessions will give you the full experience of Lakeland Ghyll Scrambling, where you can expect to be plunging into clear pools, swimming against flowing water, climbing up the side of waterfalls, exploring caves and sliding down water shoots along the way.
Minimum Age: This is dependent on height and ability, the minimum age to take part is 8 but must be over height of 135cm, and good level of fitness is required. The Ghyll can be a challenging environment, especially if we have had any rain fall.
Our open Ghyll Scrambling sessions require adult supervision if under the age of 16 and signed parental consent if under the age of 18.
Duration: Approx 4 Hours from meeting at West Lakes Adventure in Eskdale to getting out of the Ghyll in the Wasdale Valley. (Own transport is required).

Event details

Dates Times
Sun 24 May 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 25 May 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Wed 27 May 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 20 Jul 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Wed 22 Jul 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Sat 25 Jul 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 27 Jul 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Wed 29 Jul 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Sat 1 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 3 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Sat 8 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 10 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Wed 12 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Sat 15 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 17 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Wed 19 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Sat 22 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 24 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Wed 26 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Sat 29 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Mon 31 Aug 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Wed 2 Sep 2020 09:00 to 13:00
Finishing time is an approximation.

Prices

Per Space

Address

Woolpack Farm Cottage,
Boot,
Eskdale Valley,
Holmrook,
CA19 1TH

Directions

Plan route to West Lakes Adventure using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: NY 190009  Lat: 54.39801 Long: -3.24820

From the A595 at Foxfield turn right just before the traffic lights after you pass Broughton-in-Furness. Follow the road through Ulpha, cross the bridge past the post office then take the next left this is sign posted to Eskdale. Follow this road over Birker Moor until you reach the King George IV pub. Turn right at this junction and carry straight on for approximately three miles.
From the A595 at Gosforth turn left through the village, cross the mini roundabout and then take the turning to the right. Follow this road through Eskdale Green village until you reach the King George IV pub. Turn left at this junction and carry straight on for approximately three miles.

Parking: free

Like what you see? Follow us