visit ambleside & troutbeck
Ambleside is ideally located in the centre of the Lake District. The town is situated at the North end of Windermere Lake and at the foot of the poular scenic route over Kirkstone Pass. It's location and idyllic scenery make it an ideal base for visitors to explore the national park.
The tourist information centre is in the heart of the town, and there is a regular bus service. Ambleside has great walks on the doorstep including Wansfell and the Langdales, you can also explore Windermere lake from Waterhead on a cruise. This history of the town and it's heritage make for interesting reading. Did you know it is thought that Ambleside may have been named after a Norseman called Amal (i.e. Amal's saeter - or summer pasture)?
The variety of accommodation from lakeside hotels to small family run b&bs, campsites overlooking the lake and self- catering cottages is excellent. There is also plenty to see and do and lots of great places to eat.
|Sat 19 Jul - Sun 7 Sep||Summer Treasure Trail at Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum|
|Wed 23 Jul||Wild Art Wednesdays at Allan Bank|
|Wed 23 Jul||Wild Walks on Wednesdays at Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum|
|Thu 24 Jul||A Taste of Townend at Townend|
|Thu 24 Jul||Have a go at Archery at Brockhole - Lake District Visitor Centre|
Rydal HallNear Ambleside
For centuries this was the home to the Le Fleming family who moved here from Coniston Hall, having grown wealthy on the proceeds of copper mining. It is now owned by the Diocese of Carlisle and used for retreats and conferences. The gardens were designed by Thomas Mawson, (an internationally renowned landscape gardener from Windermere) in 1909 and incorporate the earliest uses of precast concrete for the terracing, balustrades, steps, fountains and urns. The gardens are open to the public (donations towards the upkeep of the gardens are appreciated). There is also a tea room for refreshments.
Rydal MountNear Ambleside
William Wordsworth's home for 37 years until his death in 1850. He moved here in 1813 with his wife, 3 children (two had died the previous year), sister Dorothy and sister-in-law Sara Hutchinson and adapted the home to suit his lifestyle - adding another storey to accommodate his library. Some of his personal effects are on view including letters relating to his appointment as Poet Laureate. Outside, the four-acre fellside garden, landscaped by Wordsworth, was designed to blend in with the surrounding land and is virtually unchanged today.
This much photographed tiny house on a bridge over Stock Beck was built as an apple store in 1723. It is one of the few buildings in Cumbria to have retained its original wrestler slates on the roof ridge. In 1926, local subscribers bought Bridge House and handed it to the National Trust, who own the property today.