Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Search and Shortlist

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Venue Type



Keyword Search


image for Cycle Route item typeDockray - Braithwaiteadd to shortlist



Covering 112 miles, and the most famous passes of the Lake District, the 4 Seasons Fred Whitton Bike Tour follows the annual sportive route but can be completed 365 days a year at your own pace. It's a fantastic opportunity for individuals, groups and clubs to complete one of the most challenging cycling routes in the country, over one or more days, and to get an official finish time on the Fred Whitton website.

Visit to download the map and route

Route Information

Time/Effort 5 out of 5
Navigation 3 out of 5
Technicality 3 out of 5

Route Essentials

Cycle Route: Dockray - Matterdale End Summit - Troutbeck - Keswick - Derwentwater - Honister Pass - Newlands Pass - Braithwaite

Duration: 1 day

Miles: 35

Route Details

Start: Dockray

1. Go through Dockray and over Matterdale End Summit (343m).

2. At Troutbeck (North) turn left onto the A66 to Keswick. Ignore the 1st left into Keswick as this leads to a one way system, instead turn left at the large roundabout (signposted Keswick).

3. Turn left again at the T-Junction (signposted Borrowdale B5289) then turn right at the mini roundabout (B5289 to Borrowdale).

4. Take the B5289 along the side of Derwentwater. Pass through Rosthwaite Village and Seatoller to Honister Pass Summit (356m).

5. From Buttermere YHA take the 1st right towards Keswick to Newlands Pass Summit (333m). Turn left at Braithwaite onto the B5292 and head up to the summit of Whinlatter Pass (318m).

6. The area around Braithwaite would be an idea place for a stop over before you take on Whinlatter Pass. Search accom.

Finish: Braithwaite

Sign up to our
GoLakes e-newsletter

* required information

Please enter the characters you see below. Click here for a different captcha image.