Search and Shortlist
Add to shortlist button.
Castle, next open Tue 1 Nov 2016 - Sun 19 Feb 2017, £2.50-£4.60
Picturesque Brougham Castle was begun in the early 13thC by Robert de Vieuxpont, near the site of a Roman fort guarding the crossing of the River Eamont. His great keep largely survives, reinforced by an impressive double gatehouse and other 14thC additions made by the powerful Clifford family, Wardens of the Marches. The castle thus became a formidable barrier to Scots invaders.
Though both James l and Charles l stayed here, Brougham was in poor condition by the time of the Civil War. It was thereafter restored as a residence by the indomitable Lady Anne Clifford, see also Brough Castle and the Countess Pillar. she often visited with her travelling court, and died here in 1676.
Today, the site features an introductory exhibition, including carved stones from the nearby Roman fort. The site has good wheelchair access to entry point, toilet, shop and small introductory exhibition. There is a wheelchair route to the castle ruins, which enables visitors to make a circuit of the site and read the interpretation panels. The keep is not accessible to wheelchairs.
|Season Dates||Opening Hours|
|Tue 1 Nov 2016 - Sun 19 Feb 2017||Sat - Sun 10:00 to 16:00|
|Mon 20 - Fri 24 Feb 2017||Mon - Fri 10:00 to 16:00|
|Sat 25 Feb - Fri 31 Mar 2017||Sat - Sun 10:00 to 16:00|
Adult £4.60, concessions £4.10, children £2.80, family tickets (2 adults and 3 children) £12.00. Group rates available. Free to English Heritage members
- Coach parties accepted
- Disabled access
- Disabled toilets
- English Heritage Property
- Facilities for groups
- Facilities for educational visits
- Gift shop
- On-site light refreshments
- Picnic site
- Public toilets
- Accepts groups
- Children welcome
- Disabled access
- Dogs accepted