Picturesque Brougham Castle was begun in the early 13thC by Robert de Vieuxpont, near the site of a Roman fort guarding the crossing of the River Eamont. His great keep largely survives, reinforced by an impressive double gatehouse and other 14thC additions made by the powerful Clifford family, Wardens of the Marches. The castle thus became a formidable barrier to Scots invaders.
Though both James l and Charles l stayed here, Brougham was in poor condition by the time of the Civil War. It was thereafter restored as a residence by the indomitable Lady Anne Clifford, see also Brough Castle and the Countess Pillar. she often visited with her travelling court, and died here in 1676.
Today, the site features an introductory exhibition, including carved stones from the nearby Roman fort. The site has good wheelchair access to entry point, toilet, shop and small introductory exhibition. There is a wheelchair route to the castle ruins, which enables visitors to make a circuit of the site and read the interpretation panels. The keep is not accessible to wheelchairs.
Adult £3.90, children £2.30 and family tickets £10.10.
email a friend
Penrith, Cumbria, CA10 2AA
Map reference: NY 538290 Lat: 54.65395 Long: -2.71757
From A66, 1.5 miles south east of Penrith.
Parking : free
Nearest station : 2 miles (3.2 kms) from Penrith station